Today is Commonwealth Day:

Westminster Abbey

a day to celebrate the 54 independent states of which the British Commonwealth consists off. Out of these 54 states all but Mozambique and Rwanda were officially part of the British Empire.

Commonwealth Day is always celebrated on the second Monday in March. It is not a day to simply celebrate diversity, but also a day to promote international cooperation which aims to improve the lives of citizens in Commonwealth countries.

Commonwealth Day is always marked by a multi-faith service in Westminster Abbey in London, in which the Queen gives a speech that is often broadcasted throughout the world.

Celebrated on the second Monday in March every year, commonwealth day
Commonwealth Day is an opportunity to promote understanding on global issues, international co-operation and the work of the Commonwealth’s organisations that aim to improve the lives of its citizens. This year, the Queen is calling for people who live in the Commonwealth to celebrate the “extraordinary cultural tapestry” of the “unique gathering of nations” of the 54 member nations.

“The Commonwealth treasures and respects this wealth of diversity.”